Words and photos by Scott Sparrow

Mike Brown beat Mark Koehler, Judson Massingill took out David Lezear, and Edgar Perez ousted Jason Walker at the GM Performance Parts Third Annual LSX Shootout held in conjunction with the NMCA World Finals at Memphis Motorsports Park.

In the final, Massingill, who operates the School of Automotive Machinists, took a huge .152 to .351 starting line advantage and stretched out to a 9.077 win at 156 mph with Lezear stopping the clocks at 9.49 at 143 mph.

The most competitive eliminator at the LSX Shootout has been the LSX Index class and this year was no exception as more than 70 cars entered eliminations on Sunday. Edgar Perez of Howell, N.J., received the LSX Ambassador Award on Sunday morning and then went on to win six rounds before defeating Jason Walker in the final by combining a .014 leave with a three-over-index 11.03 to defeat Walkers .167 leave and 10.514 against his 10.50 index.

Also featured at this year’s race was the 2010 Camaro Shootout where Daniel Moore defeated Andy Rickets in a 10.90 to 11.02 race.

In Drag Radial, Brown, driving a ’98 Trans Am, qualified fifth and beat number one qualifier Steve Turely in round one with an impressive 7.51 at 190 mph to Turley’s 7.98 at 192 mph and in the second round bested Jim Filipowski, running 7.47 at 194 mph to Filipowski’s 7.58 at 197 mph.

In the final, Brown faced Mark Koeher, who advanced after beating Michael Meeks and last year’s winner Steve Fereday. In the final stanza, Brown got an early .016 to .176 reaction time advantage and continued in front of Koehler to the finish line tripping the beams at 8.10 at 189 mph to Koehler’s losing 8.23 at 185 mph.

In LSX All Motor competition, Judson Massingel of Houston defeated David Lezear in the final. Massingill, who has been shutout from the win the past two years, qualified on top of the field with an event record-setting run of 8.654 at 156 mph with Lezear qualifying a distant second with a 9.41 effort.