Sebastien Bourdais leads the pack. (photo by Michael L. Levitt/LAT for Chevy Racing)

IndyCars at Toronto

Chevrolet Drivers Dominate

Bourdais, Castroneves, Kanaan Take Top Three Finishes on Streets of Toronto

TORONTO (July 20, 2014) – Sebastien Bourdais started his No. 11 KVSH Racing Chevrolet on the pole for Race One on the Streets of Toronto.  And after leading 58 of the 65 laps, he took the 2.2-liter V6 powered Team Hydroxcut Chevy to victory lane in dominating fashion. 

Fellow Team Chevy drivers Helio Castroneves (No. 3 PPG Automotive Finish Team Penske Chevrolet) and Tony Kanaan (No. 10 Target Chip Ganassi Chevrolet) finished second and third, respectively, to complete the all-Chevrolet IndyCar podium.

The top-three drivers represented three of the organizations that represent the Bowtie Brand in the Verizon IndyCar Series.

(photo by Scott R. LePage/LAT for Chevy Racing)

“What a dominant drive from the pole to a win by Sebastien Bourdais today in Toronto after the rain delayed start yesterday,” said Chris Berube, Chevrolet Racing Program Manager, Verizon IndyCar Series.  “Congratulations to Seb and the whole KVSH Racing contingent for being patient and delivering a breakout result. 

"Execution is so important in the Verizon IndyCar Series due to the closeness of the competition, and the KVSH guys with Chevy power put Seb in a position to win from the pole.  Team Chevy was well represented on the podium with Helio Castroneves and Tony Kanaan completing the sweep and representing the depth of talent powered by Chevrolet.  Now we quickly focus on preparing to run the 2nd race of the double header today!”

Scott Dixon, driver of the No. 9 Target Chip Ganassi Racing Chevrolet, finished fifth to give Team Chevy four of the top-five finishers in the race which was delayed from Saturday due to inclement weather.

Bourdais’ victory is the seventh win of the 2014 Verizon IndyCar Series season for drivers powered by the Chevrolet twin turbocharged direct injected engine. The 32nd career win for the four-time Indy car champion breaks a three-way tie for overall wins with Dario Franchitti and Paul Tracy. Bourdais stands alone as the eighth winningest driver in IndyCar Series’ history.