Super Chevy Show at Rockingham, NC

Smith wins Pro Mod class as Camaros dominate

Reigning NHRA World Champion Rickie Smith drove his nitrous oxide-boosted 2013 Chevy Camaro to win the Pro Modified championship at the Dieffenbach Super Chevy Show at Rockingham Dragway, presented by the Richmond County Tourism Authority.

Smith, the veteran from King, N.C., who won two IHRA Super Modified titles and five Pro Stock titles before making the switch to Pro Mod, saved his best for last on Sunday, Oct. 5, covering the eighth-mile course in 3.937 seconds at 194.24 miles per hour on a solo pass when his opponent, Matt Suite from Hughesville, Md., was unable to repair his Steve Vick-owned 1968 Camaro after damaging the engine in the semi-finals. Suite had qualified in the No. 1 spot.

In addition to celebrating all things General Motors, the three-day event also featured Danny O’Day and the “world’s fastest wheelstander,” Rockingham resident Terry Rosberg and “American Thunder,” the word’s only jet-powered 1941 Willys coupe, and the Gear Jammers circuit. 

Lee Desist and Art Laselle, both of Fayetteville, NC, swept the bracket titles Sunday after cold weather forced track owner Steve Earwood to suspend racing Saturday night and split the money between those still in competition.

Desist drove his 1967 Camaro past the Chevy Luv truck of Eddie Key of Red Springs to claim Top Eliminator Sunday and Laselle turned back Clayton Roberts of Willow Springs to win Footbrake.

The girls ruled in Jr. Dragster with Kimberly Dawn Messer of Four Oaks winning Sunday after Lauren Edwards of Maysville prevailed on Saturday. 

Justin West of Dunn beat Samantha Thomas of Fairmont to win the D.O.T. title and Tim Mortin of Fort Mill, S.C., was unopposed in the Gen 5 class.